Sock Monkey Blanket

Please excuse the crummy pictures, I promise that I am in the process of getting some better ones. But, this guy right here, my super adorable sock monkey blanket, is actually one of my favorite early pieces, especially of my own designs. Now, I say my own design, but there is obviously nothing super spectacular or difficult about this guy was made. A circle, a semi circle, and two 3/4 circles. Then add some eyes, a nose, and a smile. Really, really simple and quick to work up.

No, what I love about this guy is actually the yarn. This guy is made of a nylon yarn, so he is actually too warm and heavy to be used casually as a blanket, But, the softness, the texture, it is perfect for a tummy time mat or to lay on top of in general. I used Lion Brand Quick & Cozy yarn. And I have a feeling it will be discontinued soon, as I don’t see much of it on the website anymore. But man oh man, do I love that stuff.

I ordered it just on a whim one day while ordering an obscene amount of yarn from the LB clearance section. I just wanted to try all sorts of different textures, thicknesses, and fibers in general. It took me forever to decide what to make with this, because it is just so different from my other yarns. If you have never worked with a nylon yarn, touch some, your life will suddenly make sense. Well, not really, because it is amazing, but you can’t put it in the washer/dryer which makes it a pain in the rump too.

 

Anyway, I love this guy. He is one of my absolute favorites because I just like to touch him. (It’s a little inappropriate, ehh? Touching my monkey. Teehee!)

 

 

12

Leave a Reply

