Virus Shawl (Pattern Review)

I am a fairly easily frustrated person. I don’t have a lot of patience, and I get cranky when I don’t understand things. That is vital to this story.

A few months back, a friend of mine asked me to make 6 shawls for her wedding, 5 adult and 1 youth. Awesome, no problem, I am on it! Right after I finish all of these elephant pillows for Christmas!

Well, on Christmas day, I started working on these shawls. I had seen hundreds (and hundreds and hundreds) of posts on the Repeat Crafter Me Facebook group of the Virus Shawl. Awesome. It looked super easy, I can handle this! So, I went searching for the pattern, and all I could find was YouTube videos. I hate watching video tutorials. I have no patience and stop paying attention. Then,Β I finally found a written out pattern! AHHHH! But, the pattern sucked. Seriously…it sucked. But, I was still determined not to do YouTube videos…I had a crappy pattern and photos of what it should look like! How hard could it possibly be?!

I started this pattern fairly early in the day…and then I ripped it all out because 10 rounds into it, it was NOT looking like it should. Then I restarted…and ripped it out 6 rounds into it. Then I gave up and started a totally different shawl, and 12 rows into it, I realized that it was a scarf and not a shawl and ripped that one out. So, frustrated and angry,. I breathed grinchmas all over it and started the virus shawl one more time…and it clicked…and it was amazing.

These work up really fast, and once you figure out the pattern (which is so easy and makes me angry that I struggled so much), you won’t have to ever reference it again. Plus, it is pretty…and my sister-in-law has decided that it looks like an owl, and now I can’t see anything else.

So, the morale of the story…watch the YouTube video (which is linked at the bottom). Don’t be like me. Don’t be stupid. Watch the video, learn this AWESOME pattern, and make amazing shawls.

 

 

This is the one…do you see the owl?! Once you do, you will never unsee it.

 

 

Watch this video…learn…don’t frog everything because you are frustrated like me.

 

2 thoughts on “Virus Shawl (Pattern Review)

  1. I love the virus shawl & have completed 4 & 1/2… mine needs another foot or so… my only trouble is figuring when to stop it!! πŸ™‚ 2 I’ve given away, 3rd is going to my daughter… the 4th & 1/2 need to be finished soon… LOVE this pattern & now I want to make the virus blanket πŸ™‚ Glad you finally gave in to the video
    β™₯Tess

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

