Basic Life Lesson

something_nice

 

My blog the other day sparked some internet hate that actually led me to block people. Block people. On a crochet and craft based account. How sad and pathetic is that? The interesting part of what was said, is that I don’t even see how they got that from what I wrote. I am guessing that they did not read what I wrote, at all, looked at the picture, and made an assumption. And, well, you know what happens when you assume.

But, it reallyΒ upset me. I mean, how hard of a concept is it? I guess it is quite difficult. I struggle in my real life to keep my mouth shut when it comes to certain people. For the most part, I can see the good, find the beautiful, love the soul for most people…there are a few that show what a work in progress I really am. But, I try, and I get a little bit better every day.

 

But seriously, grown men and women, not teenagers, not children, “grown ups”, resorting to twitter, instagram, facebook, whatever social media account you can imagine, to try and make someone feel badly about themselves? That is so far beyond insane to me. The purpose of social media is to connect with people. Old friends, new friends, new markets, new lands, new ideas…not to belittle and bash and hurt people. It isn’t supposed to be a safe way to bully someone (and yes, I watched The Social Network…I get it…), it is supposed to be a bridge, a building block! So why does it seem that when someone picks up their phone or sits behind a computer screen, they are suddenly so brave and so mean!

 

It isn’t hard to keep scrolling. If you don’t like someone, if you don’t approve of something, keep scrolling! No one is forcing you to look at my pictures, to read my blog, to re-tweet my status, or whatever. So why take the time to try and make me feel badly about myself? Does it truly make you feel like a better person?

 

It is absurd. And we are teaching our children to behave this way. Pre-teens on instagram calling girls fat and ugly. Teenagers on Facebook telling people they should kill themselves. Technology has been such a blessing. Without it, without social media, I wouldn’t be in touch with most of my family and friends. I wouldn’t still have my best friend of 25 years in my life on a daily basis, even though we live 3,000 miles apart. But it is also turning us into a really messed up, mean society.

We need to take it back. We need to spread kindness and compassion in our daily lives, instead of hatred and anger.

 

If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.

 

2 thoughts on “Basic Life Lesson

  1. What? It was a fun tattoo!

    You know- some days I like being interconnected to everyone around the world. But some days- I don’t like the fact that people feel like they can say anything to you, and you’re supposed to accept it. What’s happening to tact and manners?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

