You Are Not A Failure Until You Quit

It is so easy to get down on yourself about Etsy. I suffer from a myriad of issues, and low self-esteem is one of them. I have problems dealing with day to day life when it comes to thinking people don’t like me, or what I do. So, when things take a turn for the worse on Etsy, my items aren’t being viewed, favored, or bought, it is really hard to not get down on myself about it.

It would be so simple to turn everything into a “woe is me” and “I should give up.” But, here’s the thing…this is what I love. I am going to crochet no matter what. So, I can either keep the shop going and hope things pick back up, or I can hoard yarn and completed projects for absolutely no reason.

Right now, things are slow. It is tough, and I am feeling badly about myself and my shop. But, I also recognize that I have been listing items with my crappy photos and scant descriptions. If I were shopping, I wouldn’t click on a lot of my newer listings due to the crappy photos! So why would anyone else? Now, the issue I have in resolving that is time. But, I am setting aside time the last weekend of this month to redo photos. As for listings, that is mostly laziness and lack of desire. I have the time to work on my listings. I just really hate it, so I don’t. And who can I possibly blame for how bad my descriptions are right now? Well, me. It is my fault.

I have been less than diligent the last two months in promoting. I have been exhausted and trying to recover from a crazy Halloween season, and a lot of personal drama over the last few months. So, my FB, twitter, pinterest, and tumblr accounts have all taken a backseat to everything else going on in my life.

Do businesses fail? Absolutely. All the time. Every hour of every day. However, I believe that a lot of the struggles are just a matter of obscene expectations and giving up too soon. For me? I made a profit last year, barely, but I did,. Not many businesses can say they made a profit their second year open. I should be proud, amazed, and focused on that. I should be working my butt off to improve. I should be trying to quadruple my profit from last year.

 

I guess, in all of my rambling about absolutely nothing, what I am trying to say is, don’t let it get you down. Don’t let the forum get you down. Don’t let a less than supportive family get you down. Work on the things you know are wrong. Work on the things people you trust have told you are wrong. But don’t give up. You will fail 100% of the times you don’t even try.

One thought on “You Are Not A Failure Until You Quit

  1. Pingback: I Am The Greatest | SweetBabyDesi

Leave a Reply

