H-A-double L-O-W-double E-N spells Halloween!

That was totally my favorite Halloween song when I was a kid. πŸ™‚

Halloween is BY FAR my favorite holiday. Candy, costumes, annoying random neighbors…it is great. As a kid, I didn’t really fit in, so Halloween was like, the one time of year when no one thought I was weird or strange. I fit right in, and I didn’t even have to wear a costume. πŸ™‚

As an adult, it is still my favorite holiday. I love to decorate for it. I love to make stuff for it. I still want to trick or treat. I still love to dress up. I love seeing little kids dressed as their FAVORITE EVER!! It is just so exciting.

Last year, I really did some hardcore crocheting for Halloween. I introduced my candy corn photo prop / costume , which you can read more about here, I made my daughter’s costume, I made a trick or treat bag for my niece (which is also where the candy corn costume came from…the costume I made for my nephew), and I made a custom stay puft marshmellow man costume!

The candy corn is my best seller, by far, as it turns out. I sold over 50 this Halloween season alone! So, next year I plan on having plenty more in stock than I did this year!

The following picture is my sweet, pressure nephew at their church trunk or treating. Isn’t he the most adorable ever?

The below picture is the costume / bag that I sent to my best friend / sister for her adorable newborn and 3 year old. Obviously, he was candy corn, and she was wearing a Minnie Mouse dress that I had snagged at Disneyland. So, she needed an awesome bag to go with it!

Β Β 

Β 

Β 

This costume was SOOOO MUCH FUN to make! It is absolutely adorable. The hat is my favorite part. It made me so happy the entire time I was making it.

Β Β 

My daughter’s costume was a beast. A nightmare. She really wanted to be Absolem, the caterpillar from Alice in Wonderland…and she wanted to be the one from Tim Burton version. Well, guess what costume is impossible to find inaΒ  child size? Sigh…so…I had promised her I would find something, and after like 2 weeks of searching and coming up empty, I said, “Don’t worry! I can make it!” Boy oh boy was that dumb. This costume took over 60 hours to make…and that is probably estimating low.

The skirt was the easy peasy part. It actually didn’t take that long, and was fairly simple design.

The hood proved itself more difficult. I could not figure out a way to make it not pointy…so, instead, she just got to be a pointy headed caterpillar.

The sleeves ended up being a little short. But, I had already made them and taken them apart like 3 times…so I wasn’t about to do it again.

I added fuzzy yarn trim to the sleeves and face in order to make it look furry. I think it turned out cool. I made a few extra arms, stuffed them, and then added suckers to her legs. I even added the bright yellow spots that he has on his sides / back. Oh, and the antennae…pipe cleaners with yarn wrapped around. πŸ™‚

The costume went over so well. She won the costume contest at Mickey’s Halloween party. And! She won a $10 prize for best costume and best homemade costume while we were trick or treating! I try to hang this up in my booths at festivals, it definitely gets people talking.

Β Β 

I am still working on a project for her for Halloween this year (as of Thursday night when I am writing this). I don’t know if I will finish it in time, or if it will even fit…so it may end up being a project for NEXT Halloween…but, I am excited about it either way.

One thought on “H-A-double L-O-W-double E-N spells Halloween!

  1. Pingback: Our Happy Disney Halloween, Goofy’s Kitchen, Musical Chairs, Pan, and more! | SweetBabyDesi

Leave a Reply

