A Very Mickey Wedding

Earlier year, I went into a little bit of detail about our wedding plans for next year. Now, these plans are still set, we have put down our deposit, we have a planning session in 6 weeks, we are good to go. However, due to some family concerns, we decided to “elope.”

We told almost no one and ran off to Vegas for the weekend (July 25th) to get married. Now, I grew up in Vegas, so eloping there isn’t quite the run to a chapel and have Elvis marry you affair. My mom, gramma, little brother, aunt, cousin, his two sons, my great uncle, his husband, and his sister in law, were the only guests, and the only ones who had any clue what we were doing. My gramma’s close friend, mentor, and one of our pastors did the ceremony, and it was beautiful. We got married in my great uncle’s backyard, which his husband had gone crazy decorating and making absolutely amazing for us. We were blessed with relatively mild weather, and great traffic for driving up there that day, especially considering we still had to go get our marriage license!

I wore a sundress that I had bought years and years ago, Chris wore khaki shorts and a short sleeve button down, everyone was dressed down and relaxed. Chris and I wore Mickey and Minnie bride and groom ears, our Pastor wore Fantasia Mickey ears, and my great uncles wore Pluto and Goofy hats. My gramma had her amazing friend make us this stunning, and delicious, Mad Hatter cake.

We said our vows, shared our kiss, ate some amazing hot dogs and burgers, and went to cut the cake. Now, with Chris not having a death wish and all, we decided to bypass the shoving cake in each others faces. My aunt was not okay with this, so she ensured to smash my face, hair, and dress with cake. Don’t worry, I got her back though…however, we do not have photos of that. lol. We don’t have many photos at all actually, we weren’t initially planning on telling people, so we just kept it hush hush, and I was squinting through the whole ceremony, as I was staring into the afternoon Vegas sun. 🙂

2

3

4

5

Like I said, we still have our big 200 guest ceremony and reception planned at Disneyland next year. But, this ceremony was so important to me. My great uncle is one of the greatest men I know. He has always been there for me, and I have always felt like we are the most closely related. He gets me. We are very similar, and I have so much respect for him. He is a brilliant man and the kindest soul. He hasn’t been doing well over the last few months, and is on oxygen full time. So, he isn’t traveling. And I could not imagine having a wedding without him there. So, I convinced Chris to elope with me, so that I could have this amazing man hold my hand and share in the happiest moment of my life.

I am eternally glad that I did this. I was actually taken aback by how much it meant to everyone else, our pastor, my uncle, his husband, my gramma…everyone. I did it out of purely selfish motives. I needed him there. And I was so amazed to find how much he needed to be there as well. That ceremony is a memory I will cherish forever, not just because I got to marry the love of my life, but because I got to bring joy to some of the most important people in my world. And I am so unbelievably thankful to everyone who helped plan it and pull it off, and to Chris for agreeing to risk pissing off his family to help me take care of mine.

Leave a Reply

