Nom Nom Nom!

So, remember that really crazy friend I talked about the other day? Well, she has a few other requests. One, I have been working on for a while, one that I am still designing in my head, and this guy that I am going to talk about today. So, I have been working on this mermaid blanket intermittently, and it is sort of a pain in the butt. So, I needed a break. Well, Chris and I were heading to Disneyland about a week and a half ago, so we swung by Hobby Lobby and picked up some neat gray yarn for me to work on a different project while we were there. My friend wanted a shark blanket that a toddler could slip into and be devoured. So, off to the world of design I went.

Now, I am not your normal pattern writer, I am not your normal designer. I don’t sketch anything out, I don’t write things down beforehand…I just sort of picture something in my head and start shaping things to look like my mind thinks. It does not always work well. Well, I did know that if this turned out well, I wanted to sell the pattern, so I did keep track of what I was doing.

So, as always, I worked on it  at Disneyland, and this was result by the end of our few hours there.

I spent a couple days making this, taking intermittent photos to sort of show the progression.

The dorsal fin totally made it. It was hard to figure out what it was going to be before then.

The teeth are my favorite part. This is the part that makes the pattern a little more advanced than it appears to be. Because you are working up the side, but you are also working FLO/BLO to try to get the teeth directly over the gums. It was an interesting experience. But, I couldn’t imagine this guy without the gums!

So, I did put his tail fin on incorrectly, but I did it intentionally. I wanted the tailfin to lay flat when he was on his side, so…if you flip him on his belly, he looks funny and wouldn’t be able to swim.

All in all, I am really happy with this guy. I think his butt is a little too round, he could definitely have used some narrowing out. But, I think he looks like a shark, he looks vicious and sweet all at the same time…and I think the design really works. I give him two flippers up. 🙂

One thought on “Nom Nom Nom!

  1. Pingback: Mer-Done! (Pattern Review) | SweetBabyDesi

Leave a Reply

