Let’s Talk About The Elephant In The Room

So, remember that awesomely amazing, super secret, incredible project I have been mentioning for close to two months? Well, here she is!

This amazing baby elephant (and she is a baby, she is actually about the same dimensions as a newborn elephant is!) is 30 inches tall, 44 inches tip of the trunk to the tail, and 47 inches from ear to ear. She weighs 35lbs, and her name is Cutie Pie. My manager’s daughter named her after seeing a photo.

This baby took me about 50 hours, 38 skeins of Lion Brand Hometown USA Circus (which is discontinued and not even on their website anymore!), and 23lbs of polyester fiberfil to make. She has been my biggest nightmare and my greatest joy.

It all started when I was harassing Stacey (from Puppet Pie) to make a series about craft fairs, shows, and face to face sales on her blog. And, like a good friend, she did. I was complaining to her about my lack of views, sales, and general interest at the fair I did last December. And, she had a brilliant idea. My logo is an elephant, I got started by making elephants, my elephants are my specialty…so why not make a display elephant?! She has an 8ft blue, fuzzy wall that draws attention to her display when she is at shows. And she said that I needed something to do the same, to make me unique, to give people something to remember me by. And apparently, being the crazy crochet lady with the giant elephant is it! So, I got to work.

I took my normal elephant pattern and just made it 4 times larger, pattern-wise, not directly (directly, it is actually 7.5, almost 8 times larger). I used Hometown USA because it was so bright, and really, really, really discounted. And, it was a very thick yarn, so I could use an N hook, which made my life SOOO much easier.

And I started crocheting…and crocheting…and crocheting. It started as something I worked on for a few hours each week, and about 2 weeks ago I realized that I was not on track to complete it…so I hunkered down and busted my butt to get her finished.

And she was worth every single penny and every last hour. She is my new pride and joy.

  A giant ear.

  It took me and Chris both to stuff her butt.

  This is two boxes of fiberfil in her.

Don’t mind the belly hair.

Once partially stuffed, it was so large that I had to sit on the edge of the couch to keep working on her.

Shaping the trunk got to be way too difficult, so it involved me standing on the couch or the floor, depending on which side I was working on.

 She’s getting there

Elephants are really creepy looking without ears. 🙂

Sewing on the ears Thursday night.
  And here she is, Miss America!

  She is so ridiculously awesome.

Baby got back.

This was my view out of my review mirror…
  She came to work with me and sat on our cost accountant’s desk all day. She was a super hit, everyone adored her!

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About The Elephant In The Room

  1. Pingback: Complete and Devastating Failure | SweetBabyDesi

  2. Pingback: Simple Elephant – Free Pattern | SweetBabyDesi

  3. Pingback: Soka University International Festival 2016 | SweetBabyDesi

  4. Pingback: Patchwork Long Beach Spring 2016 | SweetBabyDesi

Leave a Reply

