Disneyland Is Still The Greatest

So, Chris and I had a blast at Disneyland and California Adventure Sunday night. We went to the parks right after his ex picked up their daughter. We got there just in time to see our absolute favorite Dime perform with the last show of Five and Dime for the night. Then we walked around for a bit, watched a little bit of the Freeze the Night show, and then headed over to Disneyland. We had a blast, watched the fireworks, rode Pirates, Indiana Jones, Haunted Mansion, and Space Mountain.

Well, as is the norm, I had brought a project for when we were waiting in line. I even brought my nifty crochet-lite hook, so that I could actually work in the lines, since it would be dark outside. We get a lot of comments, mostly made in my general direction, as opposed to people actually talking to me, about me crocheting in line. People are usually a little shocked by it, like it never occurred to them to bring something to do in line. (I also get weird comments when I bring a book and read, so I know it isn’t just the crochet thing.) Well, last night we had a lot of people talking to us about it. Wanting to know how I could work in the dark, how I had gotten to be so quick, if it made Chris mad, and all sorts of ridiculousness. I even had one person ask how I was making the yarn change colors…though, in their defense, they did not say it to me, just very loudly to their friend. Apparently, I am magical and can make yarn any color I want…man, that would be awesome by the way!

So, normally, when we get close to the ride, I put my project back in my purse. I mean, I go to Disney for the shows and rides, I am not going to ignore them. Those passes cost way too much money for that! And, the reason I bring crochet generally, instead of a book, is that I can still talk to Chris while I am crocheting. If I am reading, then I am ignoring him. Well, we were in line for Space Mountain, our final attraction for the evening before we were going to head home. We always do silly poses for the cameras, because well, we go a lot…and know where all the cameras are, and why would you not? We have great ones of us sleeping, acting like zombies, kissing, rocking out, all sorts of ridiculousness. So, we were talking about what we were going to do for the photo this time, and Chris looked at me and said, you should totally be crocheting. We laughed, I told him I would probably lose my hook, and we dropped it for a moment…and then we realized, that this could turn out epically awesome.

I think that the best part of this photo was the responses I got when I posted it to my SBD facebook page and my personal facebook page. People were in shock. I got SO many questions from friends and family about how I managed to crochet on that roller coaster, it is SO dark and jerky! I was genuinely surprised. It had never occurred to me that anyone would take the picture seriously, I figured that everyone would see the gag that it was, a pose, and fun. I am quite happy that people actually thought I was capable of crocheting on Space Mountain though, as opposed to just being a really good picture poser. 🙂 (Oh, and Chris’ pose is what makes this photo so amazingly epic. Thanks for being my funnier half love!)

One thought on “Disneyland Is Still The Greatest

Leave a Reply

