So Cute I Could Eat You Up! (Candy Corn!)

So, while the time for Halloween has passed, I felt like sharing a little bit about my best selling item. This infant candy corn Halloween costume is sort of what put my shop on the map. (And it is not due to the adorable babies in the pictures, since I didn’t get these photos until after Halloween from some really amazing costumers!)

My best friend in the entire world posted a picture of a really awful looking felt / sewn / hacked together baby wrap that was supposed to be a candy corn costume. I couldn’t even believe someone would try to sell something so awfully made (and yet, here I am, selling my super ugly cup cozies~!) So, I decided to make it for her. I headed off to the wonder that is Hobby Lobby and got some Crafter’s Secret and just sat down and pretended like I knew what I was doing. I was, fortunately, smart enough to keep track of what I did, so that I wouldn’t have to frog the entire thing when I messed it up.

4

This was the result. I remember sitting there with my fiancΓ©e, Chris, thinking…wow…I cannot believe I made that. I cannot believe it is sort of actually cute! Stuffed animals are one thing,Β they are pretty much guaranteed to be adorable, no matter how bad you are at making them! But this…this was a costume…this was different…this was super cute and soft. (I just realized how much I toot my own horn in here…maybe I should start an Epic Crochet Fail section so that you can see just how awful I am at this!) Well, I sent this wonderful lady a photo of it, and she loved it…so, off it went to her wee little one (along with a bag that I will post about at another time) and this is what I got in return.

2

3

Is that not the cutest thing you have ever seen? If you think otherwise, you must be a mom. πŸ™‚ I was thrilled with it, and so I listed them…and they sold. People loved them. And I loved seeing photos, getting emails about it, and knowing that people loved it! So, I listed the pattern as well, and that also started to sell. Which is pretty cool, since no one has emailed me to tell me that it doesn’t work, I suck, and should give up writing patterns. πŸ™‚

A day or so after Halloween, I was gifted this photo by a customer. And it makes me smile so much to this day. It is better than a 5 star review in my eyes. Look at that kid! He looks so happy and comfortable and incredible! If I ever have a baby, the poor thing is in for nothing but crochet clothes and photo shoots!

1

4 thoughts on “So Cute I Could Eat You Up! (Candy Corn!)

  1. Pingback: H-A-double L-O-W-double E-N spells Halloween! | SweetBabyDesi

  2. Pingback: August Goals | SweetBabyDesi

  3. Pingback: September Goals | SweetBabyDesi

  4. Pingback: October Goals | SweetBabyDesi

Leave a Reply

