Snoopy is the King of the Dogs – Amigurumi Beagle

When I was stationed in Japan, there was this ridiculously awesome mall out in Yokohama, called Queens Square. And what made it so awesome (besides being built over an old dry-dock, over a train station, huge, and constantly having live, free performances) was the GIANT Snoopy store! It was huge, and there was a 20ft Snoopy (at least!) out front. Apparently, the kids in Japan have a thing for Snoopy. I even snatched up two Snoopy bras while I was there.

So, one day, while talking to a girlfriend about what her baby was going to be for Halloween, we got on the track of Charlie Brown…so we decided it was perfect. I mean, the kid was already bald with just a few wispy hairs, why not go there?! She asked me to make a Snoopy for her, and I did. And it was fabulous. Absolutely amazing. The pattern I used can be found at Bear Buns Studio, which is unfortunately no longer active. The blog is still up, but she hasn’t posted in a couple years. It is a shame too, because she is so talented!

So, here is my friend’s darling kiddo in his Charlie Brown costume with Snoopy tagging along, from 2013 Halloween. After seeing how adorable, amazing, and so cute this kid was, my sister had to have a larger one for her newborn. They have a great dane mix that looks a lot like Snoopy (even named Snoopy, of course), and he is my niece’s absolute favorite. So, I started on making larger one. I am fairly certain hers turned out to be 18 or 20inches, and it took a long time. I knew nothing about resizing patterns at the time, and learned it all on the fly. There was a lot of unraveling to be had during this project. Well, my niece got her Snoopy for her birthday, and it all worked out fantastically. I, unfortunately, do not have any photos of her with her giant Snoopy. What I do have, however, is my younger daughter with a 15” one. 😉 Enjoy.

Charlie Brown and his loyal Snoopy dog

Charlie Brown and his loyal Snoopy dog

Charlie Brown and his loyal Snoopy dog

Charlie Brown and his loyal Snoopy dog

Charlie Brown and his loyal Snoopy dog

Charlie Brown and his loyal Snoopy dog

6" Snoopy

6″ Snoopy

6" Snoopy

6″ Snoopy

15" Snoopy

15″ Snoopy

15" Snoopy

15″ Snoopy

15" Snoopy

15″ Snoopy

2 thoughts on “Snoopy is the King of the Dogs – Amigurumi Beagle

Leave a Reply

